What’s Scouting About?

Scouting is an international, uniformed, youth movement. It is divided into several main sections:

  • Beaver Scouts (6-8 years of age)
  • Cub Scouts (8-10½ years of age)
  • Scouts (10½-14 years of age)
  • Explorer Scouts (14-18 years of age)
  • Scout Network (18-25 years of age)

The aims of Scouting are clearly stated but can be basically surmised as providing an opportunity for young people to develop, to learn and to enjoy themselves. Scouting can offer a wider range of skills and services than perhaps other, more ‘specialised’, youth organisations could provide. Scouting is open to any young person, of any creed or colour, mental or physical capabilities and of any sex.

What do Scouts do?

Scouts take part in activities as diverse as kayaking, abseiling, expeditions overseas, photography, climbing and zorbing. As a Scout you can learn survival skills, first aid, computer programming, or even how to fly a plane. There’s something for every young person. It’s a great way to have fun, make friends, get outdoors, express your creativity and experience the wider world.